Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Ok, I know, I know. It totally isn’t fall and I have a recipe with the word ‘pumpkin’ posting. Let me just tell you. I totally stocked up on cans of pumpkin so I could make this specific bread once a month or so because it’s that delicious.

IMG_1744

This bread came when someone brought us a meal after we had Archie and I dominated all of it. All. Of. It. Two loaves. That’s a whole lotta bread people.

IMG_1745

I would eat a slice every time I got up in the middle of the night to nurse, for breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunch, mid-afternoon snack and dessert after the main dessert. Can you tell I was ravenous? Well, I still am, but just not nearly to that extent that I was in the first month of motherhood and nursing around the clock.

IMG_1763

So while I was baking my chocolate chip cookies last week, I decided that I wanted this bread too (because I obviously didn’t have enough carbs and chocolate in my life at that moment).

IMG_1762

This recipe makes two loaves so I decided to drop one off on my best friends front porch at 6 am on the way into work this next morning because this is her favorite ‘treat’ bread. She was definitely happy about it and dug into it that morning to have with her Louisville coffee.

IMG_1764

And when it comes to pumpkin, in my humble opinion, you gotta go with Libby’s canned pumpkin. It is the best!

IMG_1738

I always thoroughly enjoy each bite of this bread and I think you will too. You can choose to make two loaves in regular size loaf pans or 5 loaves in mini loaf pans. You decide.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Ingredients:

2.5 c whole wheat flour

2 c granulated sugar

3 Tbsp wheat germ

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 (16 oz) can pumpkin

4 eggs

1 1/4 c oil (I use canola)

1 c (heaping) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease two regular loaf pans or 5 smaller ones well.

Sift dry ingredients together in bowl and set aside.

Beat together pumpkin, oil and eggs. Gradually add your flour mixture and mix until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour in loaf pans and bake for 50-60 minutes (for the two regular loaves) or 40-50 minutes for the small loaves.

Pull out of oven when toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Invert out of pan onto cooling rack. Cool completely. Good in ziplock bag or airtight container for up to one week.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Alexis

    Ha, I had a similar bread experience with Avocado Sandwiches when I was pregnant! I never think about putting pumpkin in my baking. Pumpkin and chocolate seem like such a great combo. Thanks Lauren.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Easy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread – Kerry Cooks

Leave a Reply

