Pumpkin Pecan Muffins

Soooo…. Chad and I started the paleo diet this past Monday. We researched, talked with friends who have done it and had thought about it for a few weeks before diving in. Why, you ask? I definitely recognize that I do not need to “diet” or lose any weight. I’m doing this alongside my husband as he starts a workout regimen and a friend told us that if one spouse does it, the other needs to commit as well because of accountability and encouragement. I will be taking in as many calories as I can to keep up my milk supply and provide for Archie. He comes first over any “diet” modification in our lives.

IMG_2609

We plan on having a “free” day once a week if needed if we go out with friends, weddings, game nights, etc. Other than that we plan on sticking pretty close to the original paleo food recommendations.

IMG_2611

I felt the need to divulge this information because, obviously, you might not see the same decadent sweet treats around here for the next few weeks. One might pop through here and there as I bake for friends who are having babies right now but as for us, we are changing our ways a little bit to see if this is the right balance in our lives right now.

IMG_2612

I won’t be talking about what I/we eat every single day but recipes that are worth sharing will be shared! And please, if you have done paleo, let me know! Share recipes, encouragement or advice (good or bad!).

IMG_2622

Anyway, long story short, this is the first “paleo” recipe I attempted. I needed something quick and easy for breakfast to take to work and for Chad to have at home too. Enter pumpkin pecan muffins! Chad really liked them, which is always the most important stamp of approval in my book.

IMG_2625

Pressed for time? These come together in less than 5 minutes! Happy baking!

Pumpkin Pecan Muffins

Ingredients:

1 c almond flour

1 c pumpkin

2 eggs

1/4 c almond butter

1 tsp ground flax seed

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp sea salt

3/4 c chopped pecans

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all your ingredients in large bowl and mix until well combined. Divide evenly into muffin tins and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Remove from oven, cool for a couple of minutes and then remove to finish cooling on cooling rack.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pecan Muffins

  1. thepracticalmama

    These look delish!!

    Lauren, love reading your blog. You’re such a sweet, witty girl. Love. It.

    What blogs do you follow? Would live to start with a solid list versus wasting my time with not-so-great ones. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Lauren @ The Highlands Life Post author

      Hey lady! You’re so sweet to say I’m witty. I think that would give Chad a chuckle. 🙂

      I have a whole list of blogs I follow. I follow them on an app called Bloglovin’ so I don’t waste my time checking their blogs if there isn’t a new post. I felt that was a big time suck for me and you know us momma’s don’t have that time to waste!

      Here are a few of my top blogs I love to read.

      http://www.eatliverun.com
      http://www.dailygarnish.com
      http://www.katheats.com
      http://www.pinchofyum.com
      http://www.howsweeteats.com
      http://www.younghouselove.com

      Happy Reading!

      Reply
  2. Heidi C.

    I have been searching for a healthier and heartier muffins and these fit the bill! I love how easy the recipe is too! I want to add a little sweetness without the sugar. Any suggestions?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

