Blueberry Muffins

I haven’t made muffins from scratch… ever.

IMG_2587

I was determined to make a blueberry breakfast type food for a morning where my girlfriend was coming over for a coffee and chat.

IMG_2572

I had bookmarked these blueberry muffins a few weeks ago and had everything on hand so I decided to make my first muffins from scratch.

IMG_2593

Chad jumped on my idea of making blueberry muffins before I actually started mixing everything and requested I double the batch so he could take some to a meeting. Request granted.

IMG_2585

Funny story: I made these, they seemed pretty liquid-y but I popped them in the oven anyway. As I was typing up this recipe later that night, I noticed that I doubled the milk by accident and did 2 cups instead of 1! Epic fail. They were still tasty but the second batch I made for Chad’s band on Sunday morning was much better.

IMG_2597

I love blueberries when they are baked into things and these muffins do not disappoint. Add a little streusel topping and powdered sugar glaze and call it a good morning indeed.

IMG_2582

Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

adapted from Pinch of Yum

Ingredients:

For the muffin:

1 c rolled oats

1 c milk + 2 tsp white vinegar (mix and let sit for 10 minutes)

3 Tbsp salted butter, melted

2 eggs

2/3 c dark brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 c + 1 Tbsp all purpose flour

1/2 c + 1 Tbsp whole wheat pastry flour

2 heaping Tbsp ground flax seed

2 Tbsp wheat germ

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 c fresh blueberries (washed and picked over)

For the streusel and drizzle:

2 Tbsp butter, cold, cut into small pieces

3 Tbsp all purpose flour

3 Tbsp whole wheat pastry flour

2 Tbsp dark brown sugar

1/2 c powdered sugar

1 Tbsp milk

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees and grease muffin tin with or without liners. Whatever your preference.

Combine milk and oats and let sit for 15-20 minutes. Then add eggs, brown sugar, vanilla and melted butter.

Stir in your dry ingredients, excluding the blueberries.

In separate small bowl, combine your streusel topping of brown sugar, flour and cold butter. Combine with fingers until it reaches a sand like consistency.

Put a spoonful of batter into each muffin tin. Fold your blueberries into your batter. Fill each muffin tin 2/3 the way full. Top with spoonful of streusel. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown.

Let cool in pan for a few minutes before removing and placing on a cooling rack.

Prepare your powdered sugar glaze and drizzle over each muffin.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

  1. eatrunlivehappy

    Holy smokes those look amazing! I really need to come up with some good muffin and granola bar recipes so my son has something quick to eat for breakfast. Being a short order cook at 6am is getting old already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

