Cocoa Date Balls

Need a healthy, fudgy, crunchy treat that isn’t crazy artery clogging? These are your friend.

IMG_2847

I bought my first Medjool dates the other week and they sat in their container for a week because I was sort of at a loss of what to do. I was going to do bacon wrapped dates but decided to take a stab at date balls instead.

IMG_2824

I was on a roll yesterday morning with cooking, cleaning and baking that I decided to finally tackle the intimidating thing known as dates and boy, am I glad I did.

IMG_2828

These were incredibly easy and now I’m no longer intimidated by dates. I mean, seriously, I can’t believe I was in the first place.

IMG_2829

These are paleo friendly but also great for everyone. I refrigerated after forming into balls and then tossed them in tupperware to store in the fridge for easy grabbing.

IMG_2838

Gluten and dairy free for all you folks out there that need a easy snack and have a hard time finding something for your needs.

IMG_2840

Got 5 minutes? Make these and have a great afternoon pick me up at work!

Cocoa Date Balls

Ingredients:

10-12 dates, pit removed

4 Tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 – 1 c pecans

Directions:

After pits are removed from dates, combine in food processor with cocoa powder and vanilla extract until a smooth paste forms.

Add your pecans and process until combined with date mixture. You want your pecans to stay kind of chunky though. You don’t want to pulverize them.

Wet your hands and form mixture into balls. Place on baking sheet and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

I garnished a few with some sea salt and they were delicious too!

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Cocoa Date Balls

Leave a Reply

