Flaky Pie Crust

It was only last year that I braved making my own pie crust. I make a mean Derby Pie and knew I needed my own pie crust to go with it.

IMG_2450

I searched around and got a base to work off of and went from there.

IMG_2446

The key to a super flaky pie crust? Good ole Crisco and really cold ingredients. Like, put them in the freezer and let them sit for 30 minutes, cold.

IMG_2433 IMG_2440

This comes together rather quickly so don’t be intimidated like I was for so long! You will never want to buy a pre-made frozen pie crust at your grocery store again.

IMG_2448

I’m handing this recipe to you alone because the next recipe I will have for you is for my Derby Pie and you are seriously going to want to make that ASAP. Trust.

IMG_2451

I even fluted my first pie crust this time around! Fancy pants, I know.

IMG_2458

What are you waiting for? Make this pie crust right now, freeze it and get your salivary glands ready for a derby pie experience you won’t soon forget…. stay tuned.

Flaky Pie Crust {for sweet or savory pies}

Ingredients:

1 3/4 c shortening (placed in freezer for 30 minutes)

2 1/4 c whole wheat pastry flour (placed in freezer for 30 minutes)

2 1/4 c all purpose flour (placed in freezer for 30 minutes)

6 oz. water (placed in freezer for 30 minutes)

2 tsp sea salt

2 Tbsp sugar

Directions:

Sift together cold flour, salt and sugar in large bowl. Cut your cold shortening into pieces or plop by spoonfuls into bowl with flour. Combine with fingers until it resembles sand.

Add your cold water until a dough forms. Form into ball and place in freezer for 30 minutes or up to 3 months.

When ready for use, remove from freezer, cut in half and roll out on clean, lightly floured surface.

Place buttered or greased pie plate upside down in center of rolled out dough and with a floured knife, cut over an inch overage from the pie plate. Place crust in plate and fold extra dough over sides or flute. Prick pie crust all over with fork.

Derby Pie recipe up next to place in your new, yummy pie crust! 

2 thoughts on “Flaky Pie Crust

  1. Lb

    I made your pie crust and it was wonderful! Freezing everything was an excellent tip. I used it for chicken pot pie, but your Derby pie is seriously calling my name!! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

