Roasted Pork Shoulder

Oh man, oh man. Our turn to host our monthly game night was upon us so I wanted to do something easy but delicious.

IMG_2331

When I saw this recipe from Ree Drummond (None other than the Pioneer Woman), and it would easily serve the 14 grown adults coming over to my house, I jumped on it!

IMG_2335

I didn’t want to stress over actively cooking for game night so when I saw this pork would take 6-7 hours in the oven and I could just pull it out, shred, and serve, I was all over it like white on rice.

IMG_2336

Side note: did I ever tell you the time that I was vegetarian for 14 months a couple of years ago? Yep, not anymore people, not anymore. Meat is where it’s at. Especially pork.

IMG_2337

This pork did not disappoint. I not only had everyone tell me how absolutely delicious it was but at the end of the night they even stopped to give me a round of applause. Well, well, I’m never going to turn down a round of applause for something that came out of my kitchen.

IMG_2339

I love to serve people through food. Good food at that. It makes my heart swell like no other and I truly enjoy baking and cooking for people. This was a game night hit that I’m sure will be requested to be repeated in the future.

IMG_2340

I set out hamburger buns and corn tortilla shells to go with the shredded pork but I just ate it plain with a drizzle of barbecue sauce as did many other people and it was delicious. I also served a caprese salad with tomatoes and basil straight from my garden, chips, salsa, guacamole and baked beans. People left with full and happy bellies.

IMG_2373

So, if you have a potluck or gathering you need a bigger portion of food for that’s easy to prepare and so not stressful, make this roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Shoulder

from The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

6-8 lb pork shoulder (or pork butt, whatever your butcher calls it)

2 cans Dr Pepper (or 2 bottles Dr Better, in which I highly recommend)

1 large white onion

1 can chiles in adobo sauce

2 Tbsp dark brown sugar

salt & pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Quarter onion and place slices in bottom of dutch oven or roasting pan.

Place your pork on a clean surface and generously season with salt and pepper. Place on top of onions in pan.

Put whole can of chiles on top of pork, pour you soda onto pork and then stir in your brown sugar into mixture on bottom of pan.

Place in preheated oven with lid on your pan. Cook for 6 hours, take out of oven and see if you can easily shred with fork. If you cannot, place back in oven for one more hour.

Once you can shred pork, remove whole cut and shred all of the cut of meat. Skim your fat that is sitting on top of your cooking liquid and discard. Mix shredded pork back in with liquid that remains and keep warm until serving.

Serve with hamburger buns, tortillas or by itself with a drizzle of barbecue sauce.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Roasted Pork Shoulder

Leave a Reply

