Things I Wish People Would Have Told Me Pre-Baby

Ah, the advice and words I got when I was pregnant were abundant. But the things I wish people would have said… now there’s something. (With some advice I’m glad people told me, too!) This one’s for you Jess. P.S. I love you and your little nugget in that belly!!

The Lord will sustain you through sleeplessness. It is actually quite amazing the strength and endurance he gives us as new mothers. Broken up sleep is temporary! I reminded myself of that often as I was sitting in his rocker, feeding him and cuddling during the night. I never knew when our last cuddle was going to be so I tried to remind myself to drink it in while I could. Everyone says it but it’s totally true. They grow up so quickly and these days are short in the grand scheme of things.

20130723-203623.jpg

Breastfeeding very well might hurt/be uncomfortable because let’s be candid, have you ever had something attached to that area of your body for 30 min to an hour at a time every 2-3 hours (sometimes even more often), I think not. It won’t be uncomfortable forever but for a bit and it’s usually just those first 10-20 seconds of the initial latch on that you want to punch something. Believe me, it will get better. Hang in there momma’s!! P.S. This is different if you are blistering/bleeding. Contact a lactation consultant in that case.

Yes, being a parent is so full and rich of sweet moments and bliss (cherish them!). It also harbors moments of exposing our own selfishness as humans. Thank goodness for grace and the Lord’s mercies being new everyday! Just know you aren’t alone if you are feeling not so “blissful” all the time.

You don’t have to give up on your “before kids” routine. When those babes are newborn to three months, keep going out to grab dinner. It might turn a not so great day around to being a bright spot. Those babes just chill and sleep in their little carseats so take advantage of it. Chad and I never really slowed down. We still got together with our friends and had people over. I think that was a huge help that made me not feel so stir crazy with a newborn. I guarantee that might look different with more than one kiddo but it worked for us and most of our friends that we hang with on a regular don’t have kids yet so this was really fun to see them love on baby Archie and watch him grow.

20130723-203306.jpg

I would say sleep when the baby sleeps but I never forced myself to take a nap each time Archie slept. I would just go with the flow and if I felt like napping, I would. I can honestly say that I probably make napping more of a priority now that I’m back to work and chasing around a very busy 9 month old. So don’t feel bad if you aren’t “sleeping when they sleep”. As long as you are taking care of yourself and you are feeling good then do what feels right! There is no right formula.

All in all, being a mom is a sweet time. Yes, it’s hard and it’s work every single day but it’s a precious time. Know that you are that child’s parent and you know what’s best for them. Take people’s advice with a grain of salt when it comes to hard and fast rules. What works for one baby, very well might not work for your baby. The pressure is off! Whether you deliver naturally, epiduralized, or c-section. Whether you breast or bottle feed. Whether you cloth diaper or use disposables. Make your own baby food or buy from the store. Whether you co-sleep or have your babes in their room from night one. Whether you cry it out or respond to every cry. No matter what you decide, as long as you know you are making the best possible decision for you and your family, that’s all that matters. You just focus on loving the heck out of your sweet baby and taking care of yourself and you’ll be alright. Have some close friends “on call” that you can laugh, cry and just talk with about the changes of daily life.

20130723-203031.jpg

Anyone have any advice they got out there that was helpful or not so helpful that you want to share?

4 thoughts on “Things I Wish People Would Have Told Me Pre-Baby

  1. colleen

    The cuddle moments do dwindle =( My little guy already is very squirmy right before bed. Miss those nights when he wanted to snuggle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

