Making {Baby} Food

I have been preparing to write this post for over a week and am finally sitting down with all my figures and pictures to tackle this topic.

Baby food was really intimidating to me the closer Archie’s 6 month birthday crept up. It was so easy to just breastfeed. I had fresh milk whenever and wherever he needed it. No prep work, it was always ready and accessible. But I knew I wanted to make his food from the get but was nervous about a few things. 1.) That it would be a little more difficult than I anticipated further resulting in giving up, 2.) What if he didn’t like any of the food and it just all was for naught and went to waste 3.) Time- I thought it was going to take a lot more time than I wanted and ample time is one thing I do not have these days. Thank goodness all of that turned out to be false. So the more I made his food, the more I wanted to write about it. Maybe you are intimidated by it, don’t think your babe will like your food or you don’t think you have the time. Let’s break this down, shall we?

Last Sunday was the biggest baby food making yet. I knew we’d be back from vacation before we traveled again for a bit so I wanted to make a big batch of all sorts of different flavors and colors to have in the freezer for quick and easy access.

Here is my grocery rundown for this one prep time.

  • 6 bananas
  • 4 peaches
  • 2 organic apples
  • 1 organic bunch of broccoli
  • 1 cantaloupe
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 Russet potato
  • 1 organic squash
  • 1 organic zucchini
  • 1 steamer bag of frozen greens beans
  • 1 steamer bag of frozen peas
  • 6 oz organic blueberries
  • 1 bunch of organic carrots

Grocery Bill Total: $18.21Image

I was fortunate enough to receive the Baby Bullet for a baby gift but if I would not have received one, I definitely would’ve purchased one. I’m sure if you had something like a Vitamix you wouldn’t need the baby bullet since I’ve heard it is awesome at purees and smoothies. I do not puree A’s bananas or avocado since they are easily mashible with a fork very quickly when needed but for everything else, I use the bullet.

I start out by peeling what needs to be peeled, i.e. potatoes, apples, & carrots and then I cut into smaller pieces and boil or steam until soft (except for soft fruits like watermelon, cantaloupe, berries, etc). I love purchasing A’s green beans and peas in frozen steamer bags for easy prep that yields quite a few servings. The first time I pureed his green beans and peas, I didn’t puree them quite long enough so he definitely had a hard time getting adjusted to that thicker puree but we haven’t had any problems since.

I love seeing all the bright colors of my own homemade baby food. It makes me feel good knowing that the only ingredients in his food are the food and some reserved water from boiling to make the puree as thin as I desire. My heart sort of nerdily leaps for joy everytime I open up my refrigerator and see these staring back at me.

IMG_2097

I did work for a few days getting all of this made and in the freezer. Only because I only have so many baby bullet serving cups and only one freezer batch tray. But you know what? That was ok with me because I would do a couple of things day while Archie was jumping around in his jump up and it only took ten minutes, tops, so he was never needing me because he was waiting and bored.

I boil some things together like his zucchini and squash.

Image

I simple separate them for blending and it’s as easy as 30 seconds of blending and it’s ready!

ImageI’ve discovered that naturally water retaining foods like zucchini and squash don’t need any extra water for pureeing. Just play with your food making measurements. Nothing is right or wrong. It’s whatever your baby likes.

Just take a gander at these beautiful blueberries! Archie loves them!

Image

Ok, so the food prep really is the easy part. Super simple and not time consuming. Now let’s talk about what all of my goodies yielded for my little Archie bear. Each baby bullet container will last us one or two servings depending on how hungry he is that meal.

  • 6 bananas- (We buy these once or twice a week because these are his favorite and we just mash them up with a fork and he downs them so about ten bananas a week)
  • 4 peaches- 8 baby bullet servings
  • 2 organic apples- 6 baby bullet servings
  • 1 organic bunch of broccoli- 9 baby bullet servings
  • 1 cantaloupe- 14 baby bullet servings
  • 1 sweet potato- 8 baby bullet servings
  • 1 Russet potato- 6 baby bullet servings
  • 1 organic squash- 4 baby bullet servings
  • 1 organic zucchini- 4 baby bullet servings
  • 1 steamer bag of frozen greens beans- 8 baby bullet servings
  • 1 steamer bag of frozen peas- 8 baby bullet servings
  • 6 oz organic blueberries- 5 baby bullet servings
  • 1 bunch (8) organic carrots- 10 baby bullet servings

Total Servings- 90 (a whole month’s worth of food, give or take a few days)

Cost- 5 cents a serving or 15 cents a day (add a few cents in there for bananas since we buy those once or twice a week)

Seriously, this blows my mind! And thankfully, Archie has liked or loved everything I have made him so far.

{Peaches, Squash, Zucchini}

IMG_2073

I freeze 6 servings in the batch tray at a time and pop them out and store them in labeled airtight tupperware in the freezer and then begin on the next batch of goodies to get it all done and ready for easy thawing out and serving.

IMG_2094A few points I love about the Baby Bullet. 1.) Easy to use, 2.) Super fast, 3.) Makes a great puree whether you need it super thin or a little thicker as they progress with new textures, 4.) Easily portable, I took it to the beach and made his food there!, 5.) the baby bullet serving containers it comes with have a date dial so you can put the date you plopped the food in there fresh or when you pulled it out of the freezer to thaw so you don’t have to think about which day you pulled out which puree {Let’s get real, we have enough to think about}, 6.) Shamelessly, I just think it’s so darn cute. Those little smiley faces get me everytime and they aren’t too big so you feel like you can use each serving within your 3 day window of needing to use it, especially when they aren’t eating quite as much in the beginning of starting solids.

We wil be starting to serve Archie more and more meats and chunks of bigger food so he can get used to feeding himself and chewing his food into bits to swallow but I know in my heart I will use this for a while longer to make him foods, smoothies and such and then use it for each babe after him.

So that’s the gist of our life in baby food land. How do you prepare your baby’s food or what do you desire to do when you have kids? Any questions I didn’t answer, feel free to ask!

6 thoughts on “Making {Baby} Food

  1. Glenna

    Lauren-Micah will be starting baby food soon. Two questions-Do you think that baby food making is feasible for a working mom with time and all? How long is baby food good in the freezer? Have you ever tried freezing the food in ice cube trays?

    Reply
    1. Lauren @ The Highlands Life Post author

      Great questions!

      This is totally feasible as a working mom. I know I don’t work 5 days a week like some but I still work 1-2 twelve hour shifts at the hospital and I know the last thing I want to do when I come home is prepare food (for me or Archie!) I find myself prepping on Sunday’s and the longest part of prep is peeling what needs to be peeled. Other than that I boil (and play with Archie while I wait) until soft and throw in the bullet for a little blending. Easy easy.

      I suggest trying to use your food you’ve frozen within 3 months. A month is the most ideal but you can freeze up to 3-6. (You will probably never have any for near that long just sitting there.)

      I haven’t tried ice cube trays but have heard of plenty using them successfully. Go for it!

      If you prep throughout one weekend a month, you’ll easily be able to have a few weeks of Micah’s meals ready to go. Just a few minutes here and there and you are set! It’s so great to just pick what you want thawed and know exactly what he is eating and knowing you are making it easy for who is watching him during the day too.

      Reply
  2. Jenn

    This is such a great idea! When I’m fortunate to have a baby of my own I do plan on making as much of the baby food I can.

    Reply
  3. Kristen

    Baby food making is the best and so easy!! I made all of Fulton’s food from the beginning and he actually never ate a jar of regular baby food. Saved tons of money and I enjoyed doing it. I had a good system going for doing it and the baby bullet is the best. Glad you are enjoying it too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

