Candied Pecans

A few months back I wanted to have some candied pecans to top on my salad. So I made up a simple little sugar coating that I guarantee you probably have all the ingredients for in your fridge right now.

IMG_2047

These add the perfect sweetness and crunch to my salads.

IMG_2036

But I think this little diddy deserves another story. One day, a couple of months back, I had excitedly packed a huge salad for work like the one you’ll see down below. It was full of my delicious candied pecans, feta cheese, dried cranberries and a balsamic vinaigrette. I got a few bites in and saw something that looked like one of those dark pieces of lettuces so I pushed it to the side. Yeah, totally not a piece of lettuce. It was a freaking spider. Dead, but a gnarly spider nonetheless. I can’t even tell you how upset I was that my salad was going to waste but hey, at least I didn’t eat the dang thing and not realize it. And I can only assume it was already in the lettuce before I brought it home because it never sat out of the refrigerator except for when I was preparing it and when I took it out to eat it. And to my knowledge, I can’t say I’ve ever heard or seen of any spider living in a refrigerator.

So, fast forward to this past Sunday when I was making these salads for our lunch. I now inspect every single piece of lettuce like it’s my job when I rinse it off so imagine my surprise when I look over after making our salads, waiting on Chad to walk in the door, and see a spider dangling from his little web string from our back door. I mean, really?! People, I can’t make this stuff up. What is it with spiders wanting my salads? So I killed the terrible thing after taking pictures of it to show Chad my awesome luck in life when it comes to spiders and then we went about our lunch and enjoyed these salads.

IMG_2065

I’m sure you will have no problem with spiders coming your way. I think they just like me for some reason.

Candied Pecans:

Ingredients:

Equal parts dark brown sugar and butter. Usually 1-2 Tbsp. each times you make these.

Use as many pecans as you want depending on how much coating you have in your pan.

After sugar and butter is melted just throw your pecans in there. Get them nice and coated and pour them onto a piece of wax paper to cool.

Sometimes it helps to separate them a little bit so you don’t have just one big clump.

Top on salads, eat as a snack, top on ice cream, the possibilities are endless!

I keep mine in an airtight container for up to 7 days.

2 thoughts on “Candied Pecans

Leave a Reply

