No Bake Granola Bars

Happy Memorial Day!! You all know I am all about some baking. But these no bake babies are so great because I can throw them together in just a few minutes, refrigerate, cut into bars and stash them in the fridge for easy grab and go.

20130524-173627.jpg And let me just tell you, these were especially awesome when I was first a new momma. It’s amazing the hunger you feel as a breastfeeding new mom. Every time Archie woke up in the middle of the night to nurse I was jonesing for some snacks. Every. Single. Time.

I ate granola bars, pumpkin bread, Irish soda bread, cookies, brownies… whatever I could get my little hands on at all hours of the night. But that is all another post for another day.

20130524-173637.jpg I had these on my to do list for the past week and was on a roll the other night in the kitchen and decided to whip these up.

20130524-211444.jpg

So glad I did because I needed some snacks for grabbing and going like whoa. These will be great for you, your husbands, kids, etc. I usually stick one in my diaper bag/purse as I run out the door because these days it seems as if I am in a constant state of hunger. Guess that’s what happens when you are someone else’s (ahem, Archie Stone) main food source.

20130524-173737.jpg

Now hop to it!

No Bake Peanut Butter Granola Bars

from Fannetastic Food

Dry Ingredients: (scant measurements)

1/4 c sunflower seeds

1/4 c pumpkin seeds

1 c puffed brown rice cereal

1 3/4 c rolled oats

1/4 c chia seeds

1/8 c ground flaxseed

1/4 c flaked unsweetened coconut

1/4 c dried cranberries

1/4 c chocolate chips (optional)

Wet Ingredients: (Be Generous when pouring!)

1/2 c brown rice syrup

1/3 c peanut butter or other choice of nut butter

1 tsp vanilla (optional)

Combine all dry ingredients in bowl. Microwave wet ingredients in separate microwave safe bowl for 30-45 seconds. Stir to combine.

Pour wet mixture into dry ingredients. Stir to thoroughly incorporate and put into 9×13 inch cake pan. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Cut into bars, wrap and store in fridge for easy grabbing.

*These can obviously be made lots of ways so have fun with them. Try different seeds, leave out chia seeds if you don’t have any on hand or don’t want to buy them, try different nut butters, etc.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “No Bake Granola Bars

  1. Laura Loewen

    I love how healthy these look! I think I’ll have to give ’em a try. Love healthy and delicious stuff, really tryin’ to change the way we eat over here. Slowly but surely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

