Rustic Irish Soda Bread

You guys, you have to make this bread. Like, for reals. But before I get ahead of myself, let’s back up, shall we?

20130524-095642.jpg

When that little Archie Stone was born last fall we had some super generous friends in our life who brought us meals. What. A. Blessing. One night after Chad had been away on a 4 day trip (and Archie was right at 4 weeks old), our friends, Tim, Amy and their child Nora, dropped off a meal of Shepherd’s Pie and homemade Irish Soda Bread. We were in heaven. It was cold out, I’d been a solo parent for the past 4 days, Chad had literally just gotten home when they arrived and we were famished. Let me tell you, we dominated this meal. It was one of our favorites and I quickly asked for the recipe. I have cooked the Shepherd’s pie but I’ve used the Irish Soda Bread recipe a lot more because it’s so easy to throw together and crusty bread can go with so much!

20130524-095553.jpg

Last night I made this to go along with beef stew and it’s just so darn tasty and easy! So pick a meal to make next week that requires a hunk of crusty bread to go along with it. You won’t be disappointed.

20130524-095442.jpg

Rustic Irish Soda Bread

Directions:

4 c all-purpose flour
2 c buttermilk
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp sugar

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine all dry ingredients in large bowl. Add buttermilk and mix until dough forms.

Flour your hands and turn dough out onto floured surface (I flour the baking sheet I’m going to use to make things easy, and have one less thing to clean up) and knead slightly until combined. Shape into one big loaf or split into two smaller loaves. Cut a cross slit in the top of your loaf and bake for 40-50 minutes until bread sounds hollow when knocked. Bake 10-15 less if you formed into two loaves.

Remove from oven to cool on cooling rack and wrap with plastic wrap to keep freshness for 2-3 days.

Serve with softened butter or jam.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Rustic Irish Soda Bread

  1. Denise Smith

    Wow — I bet I can replace the reg flour with a GF mixture & my Lauren would be so happy!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Lauren @ The Highlands Life Post author

      Yes! I have definitely thought about experimenting with a GF mixture because I have several sweet friends who really need to be GF. If I tackle that I will definitely be posting about it so keep a lookout! Have a great weekend!

      Reply
  2. Zoe @ Chocolate Covered Chia

    I was so excited to see this post! I LOVE Irish soda bread! I have made it before with dried berries and I could eat it for days. This inspired me – I now need to make a loaf this weekend 🙂
    Im a new reader…love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

