Pad Thai (Cabbage vs. Noodles)

One of my favorite, easy, throw together meals is this delicious pad thai.

IMG_2865

Instead of using traditional pad thai noodles, you use thin cut strips of green cabbage. I have a wok I sautee all of the ingredients in but you can use a large skillet as well.

IMG_2813

If you would have told me that one day I would be loving a dish like this, I would have looked at you like you were crazy. I used to be a super picky eater and something of this nature would’ve never made it onto my plate.

IMG_2854

Thank goodness for a husband who prodded me out of my little food box a few years ago. Now nothing can stop me. No food is off limits and life is grand!

IMG_2861

I made this last week for a friend that had a baby and dropped it off piping hot, fresh off the wok. Believe me, you can’t go wrong with this dish. Light, easy, yummy and great ingredients. What more could you want?

IMG_2867

Pad Thai

adapted from Can You Stay For Dinner?

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp sesame oil

1 head green cabbage, cut into strips

2 heaping cups of chopped mushrooms, any variety

4 cloves minced garlic

4 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce

4 tsp sugar

2 eggs

2 Tbsp chopped peanuts

*Sriracha and cilantro to garnish, optional

Directions:

Heat oil in large skillet or wok until hot. Place cabbage in wok and sautee for 7-10 minutes until tender-crisp. Add mushrooms and sautee for about 3-5 minutes. Add garlic, soy sauce and sugar and stir.

Now add your eggs and stir in mixture to scramble. Serve immediately, garnished with peanuts.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Pad Thai (Cabbage vs. Noodles)

Leave a Reply

